top of page
  • Writer's pictureBecca Terkelsen

Be A DOG PERSON.


Ok…I have to come right out and admit this one FAST. Once upon a time, I was not a dog person. I wasn't even a pet person. At all.

My daughter, my husband and even occasionally my son would hound me (see what I did there?) for a pup and I was the consistent NO person. I like my floors. I don’t want to pick up dog poo in the yard. I don’t want to have to potty train yet another being. I don’t want to have to get up early on my day off. I don’t want to go out in the rain, the snow, the slush of awful New England winters and falls and springs (yes, Cape Cod gets sunshine for 2 glorious months. Not enough).


Then…one day, my life turned around. Sometime around Thanksgiving I saw this picture on my FB feed that a friend posted. And then I couldn’t stop thinking about that little face. Over Christmas break I made a comment to my husband that I could have solved all of my shopping woes by just getting a dog for the family. He wholeheartedly agreed. So when a month later I couldn’t think of a great gift to get Nic for his birthday, naturally I turned to Rocky Ridge Refuge and asked if this little man was possibly still available.


Over Christmas break I made a comment to my husband that I could have solved all of my shopping woes by just getting a dog for the family.

I chose to have “Saunter” (as he was then known) transported up from Arkansas to Massachusetts without telling Nic. I thought it would be a fun surprise. It was awesome. I waited until it was just a few minutes before I had to leave to go meet the woman who was bringing the dog to us – and told Nic I was meeting someone off Cape to look at a ballroom dress. Would he please come with me so I didn’t have to meet a stranger alone? (insert damsel in distress voice here). He was in the middle of something and did not want to break momentum, but reluctantly he agreed because I am persuasive. :-)


Here's a link to video from our first day with the pup. It was such a fun day and you get to see my little Jedi Edelman when his ears were still floppy all the time. Such a little cutie who stole my heart.





Now we go on walks when the weather is nice; Jedi hates the rain. We sleep late whenever I can, 8…9... I think Jedi would stay in bed until 10 AM if allowed. My floors are fine. I still have to vacuum a little fur but nothing is a deal breaker when I get to come home to the always happy, endless, unconditional love of this little man. I live for his puppy kisses. I love snuggling with him on the couch and taking him for walks on the beach. He’s fun to run with and teach new tricks to. There is no reason ever to say no to having the love of a dog.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page